Presentation

Financial markets are at the heart of the functioning of the global economy. The complexity of the phenomena involved requires scientific training advanced so that you can understand some of the most fundamental aspects of modern finance and to act in the markets in a relevant and responsible manner. The objective of the Probability and Finance Specialty is thus to provide students with high-level education in the field of mathematical finance. This covers all of market finance, with particular emphasis on

  • Risk management of derivative products
  • Algorithmic and statistical finance
  • Modeling of interest rates
  • Portfolio management
  • Financial regulation
  • Fintech and blockchain
  • Energy markets

The aim of the training is therefore to provide students with the tools allowing them to formulate quantitatively the questions and challenges associated with these themes of finance and to resolve them. To achieve this, it will be necessary to rely in particular on

  • Advanced stochastic calculus
  • Stochastic control
  • Numerical analysis and optimization
  • Monte-Carlo methods
  • Statistics of processes
  • Machine Learning, Deep Learning
  • Stochastic algorithms and high performance computing
  • Differential games

The skills acquired will allow students to orient themselves towards a large number of players in the financial sphere: investment banks, hedge funds, market makers, portfolio managers, market platforms, regulators, insurers … but also to continue if they wish their training through an academic PhD or in partnership with a company.

en collaboration avec l’E.S.S.E.C.

Présentation

Les marchés financiers sont au coeur du fonctionnement de l’économie mondiale. La complexité des phénomènes mis en jeu requiert une formation scientifique de pointe afin de pouvoir comprendre certains des aspects les plus fondamentaux de la finance moderne et d’agir sur les marchés de manière pertinente et responsable. L’objectif de la Spécialité Probabilités et Finance est ainsi de dispenser aux étudiants un enseignement de haut niveau dans le domaine de la finance mathématique. Celle-ci recouvre l’ensemble de la finance de marché, avec un accent tout particulier mis sur

  • La gestion des risques des produits dérivés
  • La finance algorithmique et statistique
  • La modélisation des taux d’intérêt
  • La gestion de portefeuille
  • La régulation financière
  • La fintech et le blockchain
  • Les marchés de l’énergie

Le but de la formation est donc de fournir aux étudiants les outils leur permettant de formuler de manière quantitative les questions et challenges associés à ces thématiques de la finance et de les résoudre. Pour y parvenir, il s’agira de s’appuyer notamment sur des outils de

  • Calcul stochastique avancé
  • Contrôle stochatique
  • Analyse numérique et optimisation
  • Méthodes de Monte-Carlo, simulatuion
  • Statistique des processus
  • Machine Learning, Deep Learning
  • Algorithmes stochastiques et calcul haute performance
  • Jeux différentiels

Les compétences acquises permettront aux étudiants de s’orienter vers un grand nombre d’acteurs de la sphère financière: banques d’investissement, hedge funds, market makers, gestionnaires de portefeuille, plateformes de marché, régulateurs, assureurs…mais aussi de poursuivre
leur formation à travers une thèse académique ou en partenariat avec une entreprise.

Avatar
Sorbonne Université Sciences et École Polytechnique
en collaboration avec l’E.S.S.E.C.